Council Chair and Deputy Chair re-appointed

Media releases

Council has confirmed the continued leadership of Chair, Dr Curtis Walker, and Deputy Chair, Ms Susan Hughes QC, during their first meeting of 2021.

“Both members have provided strong leadership and direction to Council – particularly throughout the challenges of COVID-19 – and I’d like to congratulate them on their return to the roles this year,” says Chief Executive, Joan Simeon.

With a strong commitment to raising the standard of health care for Māori, and supporting doctors with their education and training, Dr Walker works as a renal and general physician at MidCentral DHB and was elected to Council in 2015. Ms Hughes QC, who also chairs Council’s Audit and Risk Committee, joined Council in 2013 and is based in New Plymouth with more than 30 years’ experience working across a range of jurisdictions and Courts.

“Both Dr Walker and Ms Hughes have brought energy, commitment, and a wealth of experience to Council and our role in protecting public safety. I very much look forward to working with them again this year,” says Ms Simeon.

"It is a privilege to be re-elected as Chair of Council, and I'm very grateful for the ongoing support of Council members. Maintaining excellence in medical practice, health equity, and right touch medical regulation are just some of the key priorities for the year ahead. We will all continue to face many challenges, including COVID-19, health system reform, workforce pressures, and the increasing demand and complexity of healthcare. I look forward to working with the profession and public on these and other issues,” says Council Chair Dr Curtis Walker.

At the first meeting of each year, as required by the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003, Council elects a Chair and Deputy Chair for the next 12 months from among the existing Council members.

Read more Dr Walker, Ms Hughes and our other members.