2021 election results

Media releases

Te Kaunihera Rata o Aotearoa, the Medical Council of New Zealand (Council), today released the names of the four elected candidates to join Council governance. All four members are doctors.

The successful candidates are:

  • CHILD, Stephen
  • GOODMAN, Ainsley
  • HALE, Pamela
  • WALKER, Curtis

Council’s returning officer and Chief Executive, Joan Simeon, says the top four candidates are all current Council members. They were re-elected from 11 nominees who stood for Council.

“We had an impressive calibre of candidates standing this year, all with a passion for public safety, medical regulation and the provision of a high standard of medical care for communities in Aotearoa New Zealand.”

“I would like to thank all candidates for demonstrating their interest in shaping the future and direction of Te Kaunihera Rata o Aotearoa.”

Joan Simeon says the successful candidates have been forwarded to Hon. Andrew Little, Minister of Health, for appointment. If confirmed, the new Council members would take up their positions for a 3-year term from July 2021.

More information on the elections and all candidates who stood can be found here [PDF, 673 KB].