Te Whatu Ora | Health New Zealand

Established on 1 July 2022, Te Whatu Ora leads the day-to-day running of the health system across New Zealand, with functions delivered at local, district, regional and national levels.

It weaves the functions of the 20 former District Health Boards (DHBs) into its regional divisions and district offices, ensuring continuity of services in the health system.

Te Whatu Ora manages all health services, including hospital and specialist services, and primary and community care. Hospital and specialist services are planned nationally so they can be delivered more consistently across the country. It also manages national contracts.

Primary health, wellbeing and community-based services are planned and then purchased through the four regional divisions of Te Whatu Ora. Each region works with their district offices, located closer to local communities, to develop and implement plans based on local needs to improve the health and wellbeing of communities.

Te Whatu Ora is also responsible for improving services and outcomes across the health system. We do this in partnership with Te Aka Whai Ora - Māori Health Authority .

See the Te Whatu Ora website for more information: