Accreditation reports - prevocational medical training providers

It is the Council’s role to accredit and monitor training providers and to promote medical education and training in New Zealand. To ensure that standards are met for medical education and training, the Council accredits training providers.

Prevocational medical training

Following graduation from medical school, prevocational medical training spans two years over postgraduate year 1 (PGY1) and postgraduate year 2 (PGY2).

Training is undertaken by all graduates of accredited New Zealand and Australian medical schools as well as doctors who have passed the New Zealand Registration Examination (NZREX Clinical). Doctors undertaking PGY1 and PGY2 training are known as interns.

Requirements training providers must meet

For the Council to accredit a training provider for prevocational medical education training, over PGY1 and PGY2 it must provide:

  • structures and systems which ensure interns can attain the learning outcomes of the New Zealand Curriculum Framework for Prevocational Medical Training (NZCF).
  • an integrated system of education, support and supervision for interns.
  • 13-week clinical attachments for interns that meet Council accreditation standards, providing clinical experience as well as high quality education and learning.

Prevocational medical training accreditation reports

District Health Board Status Accredited until Link to report
 Auckland  Accredited 30 September 2021 Report 12/09/18 [PDF, 1 MB]
 Bay of Plenty  Accredited 30 June 2021 Report 13/11/17 [PDF, 974 KB]
 Canterbury  Accredited 31 December 2019 Report 12/04/16 [PDF, 673 KB]
 Capital and Coast  Accredited 31 December 2020 Report 12/04/17 [PDF, 753 KB]
 Counties Manukau  Accredited 12 October 2019 Report 12/10/16 [PDF, 724 KB]
 Hawke's Bay  Accredited 8 August 2019 Report 08/08/16  [PDF, 262 KB]
 Hutt Valley  Accredited 30 June 2020 Report 09/11/16  [PDF, 756 KB]
 Lakes  Accredited 13 December 2020 Report 13/12/17 [PDF, 675 KB]
 MidCentral  Accredited 30 June 2020 Report 12/10/16 [PDF, 676 KB]
 Nelson Marlborough  Accredited 12 October 2019 Report 12/10/16 [PDF, 735 KB]
 Northland  Accredited 30 October 2020 Report 11/10/17 [PDF, 896 KB]
 South Canterbury  Accredited 31 December 2021 Report 05/12/18 [PDF, 1 MB]
 Southern  Accredited 31 December 2019 Report 13/10/15 [PDF, 750 KB]
Report 11/05/16 [PDF, 192 KB]
 Tairāwhiti  Accredited 31 August 2020 Report 16/08/17 [PDF, 897 KB]
 Taranaki  Accredited 30 October 2020 Report 10/10/2017 [PDF, 916 KB]
 Waikato  Accredited 30 May 2021 Report 09/05/18 [PDF, 1.1 MB]
 Waitemata  Accredited 31 December 2021 Report 05/12/18 [PDF, 1 MB]
 Whanganui  Accredited 31 October 2019 Report 14/06/16 [PDF, 690 KB]
 Wairarapa  Accredited 13 December 2019 Report 13/12/16 [PDF, 309 KB]

Standards and definitions

  • Policy on prevocational medical training

    This document sets out Council’s Policy in regards to prevocational medical training. It outlines the requirements for each component of prevocational medical training from PGY1 through to the end of PGY2.

  • Accreditation standards for clinical attachments

    This document outlines the standards clinical attachments that are completed by PGY1 and PGY2 must meet. These standards should be considered in conjunction with the accreditation standards for training providers.

  • Accreditation standards for training providers

    This standard outlines what training providers need to do in order to be accredited to provide prevocational medical training to interns.

  • Definition of a community based attachment

    Community-based clinical attachments can take place in a wide variety of settings, including but not limited to general practice and urgent care. This may include rural and regional locations, and settings that provide experience in the provision of health care to Māori.