Australasian vocational medical training and recertification providers

The Council and the Australian Medical Council  (AMC) work together on accrediting the vocational medical training programmes offered by Australasian (joint Australian and New Zealand) vocational providers.

The Standards for accreditation of specialist medical training programmes are jointly agreed and applied by the Australian Medical Council (AMC) and Council.

From 1 July 2022, Australasian colleges will be required to apply New Zealand specific standards in addition to the AMC standards. These standards can be found at the link below.

The New Zealand specific standards reflect recent changes that Council has made to strengthen recertification requirements for vocationally registered doctors in New Zealand. The New Zealand specific standards also include reference to key Council documents on cultural safety standards for all doctors practising in New Zealand. It is expected that Australasian colleges will embed a focus on cultural safety and health equity into learning activities and assessments across their training and recertification programmes.

You can access information relating to the joint standards and joint processes via the AMC's website . Accreditation reports for Australasian colleges can be found here .

The Australasian colleges currently accredited by Council are:

Related scope(s) of practice

Australasian College for Emergency Medicine (ACEM)

Emergency medicine

Australasian College of Sport and Exercise Physicians (ACSEP)

Sport and exercise medicine

Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA)


Pain medicine

College of Intensive Care Medicine of Australia and New Zealand (CICM)

Intensive care medicine

The Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators (RACMA)

Medical administration

Royal Australasian College of Physicians (RACP)

Clinical genetics

Internal medicine

Occupational medicine


Palliative medicine

Public health medicine

Rehabilitation medicine

Sexual health medicine

Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons (oral and maxillofacial surgery (RACDS)

Oral and maxillofacial surgery

Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS)

Cardiothoracic surgery

General surgery


Orthopaedic surgery

Otolaryngology head and neck surgery

Paediatric surgery

Plastic and reconstructive surgery


Vascular surgery

The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (RANZCO)


Royal Australian and NZ College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RANZCOG)

Obstetrics and gynaecology

Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (RANZCP)


Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists (RANZCR)

Diagnostic and interventional radiology

Radiation oncology

The Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia (RCPA)